About Me


I’m a 29-year-old First Class (BA)Hons Journalism graduate from University College Falmouth (2009-2012) and a Qualified Proofreader and Editor with a Distinction in a CMP Diploma.

Originally from Newark, Nottinghamshire, I currently live in Bodmin, Cornwall, with my husband, Paul, and two boys. Now a stay-at-home mum, I currently work freelance as a proofreader, editor, transcriber, and copywriter.

I created this blog as part of my university course in 2009, using the space to upload any work that I did over my three years of study, to discuss my work experiences, and to showcase any other journalism-related work that I do in my free time.

As a graduate, I continue to use this platform as a means of keeping up with my daily writing and blogging, as an online portfolio to showcase my skills and accomplishments, and to offer my freelancing services.

A bit about my experience so far:

I attended university 2009-2012 in Falmouth, Cornwall, and gained a First Class Honours degree in Journalism. During this time, I contributed news and features to UCF’s student newspaper, Flex, UCF’s film website Rushes, I helped to create, write for, and edit, an arts journal titled ‘Dais‘, and I helped to run a university website, Front Page Falmouth, as Social Media Manager.

I have had work experience at my local newspaper, Newark Advertiser, where I reported alongside a photographer and had a series of articles published in the paper, and also at the copywriting agency, Stranger Collective, based in Cornwall. I continued to work with Stranger for a short period of time afterwards, as well, helping to upload content to Coca Cola’s Live Positively Collective website and input SEO details.

After university, I moved to Bristol and lived there for five years, but I moved back to Cornwall when my partner and I started a family of our own. Now, on top of my freelance work, I put a lot of my efforts and time into writing about film and TV, and have written for a variety of websites over the past few years.

As of November 2015, I am now also a qualified proofreader and editor having received a Distinction in a CMP diploma.

I’m a very passionate and determined person and love spending days at my keyboard. My ideal job is to work in at a book publisher; to be that person who edits the next Harry Potter.

Something more personal:

I watch an unhealthy amount of films and love a trip to the cinema (which I don’t get the chance to do often anymore!), but I also enjoy reading, especially books that are about to be adapted onto the big screen.

I also like taking photographs and you’ll often see me with a camera in my hands. At the beginning of 2014, I travelled around Scandinavia for a month, and I love to go on city breaks with my husband when we get the chance to escape.


headerfb (2).jpg